Skip to content

I can fly

March 23, 2010

Scene opens to a black and white closeup of a sweaty teenager, the three-striped cap most prominent, alone on a field. A fuzzy background shows an empty looking stadium. The kid’s voice in voiceover says…“I can’t sing…” Camera moves in slow motion to show his feet, also in the trademark three-striped boots. “I can’t dance”. The camera pans back to show he’s moving forward, in the half-crouch of the point fielder. The voiceover continues “I can’t climb mountains”. Quick closeup of the sweaty face and then back “I can’t ride a horse…” to show a short skip to land with the toes of both feet, slightly further than shoulder-width apart, digging into the turf. “I can’t swim…” First look at a batsman, as he cuts. “I can’t cook”. The fielder is now lining up the catch, moving to his left. He launches himself further left, a closeup of both feet coming off the ground. Voiceover continues “But sometimes…” Camera shows the fielder parallel to the ground, arms outstretched. “…I can fly” Cue bass guitar as ball settles into his hands. Bass guitar sounds get loud as he falls to the ground and slides, with ball in hand. The logo comes on screen with the legendary slogan “Impossible is nothing”

Call it cheesy, corny or whatever other foodstuffs that you crave, they do somehow manage bloody good sports commercials.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2010 10:43 pm

    Hi there,

    My name’s Paul and I stumbled across your site a few days ago and I really like it! I’m new to the blogging world and I’ve recently set up my own cricket blog – please feel free to have a look http://paul-itsjustnotcricket.blogspot.com/ .

    I was wondering if you would like to have a link to my blog on your site and I’ll do the same in return.

    Hope you get this and look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Many thanks

    Paul Wilkinson

Leave a Reply

